27th May 2012Posted in: News Comments Off
Cannes 2012: The Winners
The Croissette was slick with rain again on Sunday night for the 65th Cannes Film Festival's closing ceremony, which one colleague joked was a tribute to the 1964 Palme d'Or winner The Umbrellas of Cherbourg. Inside the Grand Théâtre Lumière, this year's jury was led by president Nanni Moretti, the Italian filmmaker whose Habemus Papam (We Have a Pope) screened in 2011's main competition. Moretti's jury also included actor Ewan McGregor, The Descendants writer-director Alexander Payne, Inglourious Basterds actress Diane Krueger, British auteur Andrea Arnold (Fish Tank), Palestinian actress-filmmaker Hiam Abbass (The Visitor), French actress Emmanuelle Davos (Kings & Queen), Haitian filmmaker Raoul Peck (Lumumba), and designer Jean-Paul Gaultier in the wild-card slot. For this writer, comfortably dry and watching the awards on TV at a nearby flat, that nine-member think tank's choices proved parochial, or at least yawn-stifingly uninspired, but that reaction might be because the competition's four best films—Leo Carax's Holy Motors, Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom, Jacques Audiard's Rust & Bone and David Cronenberg's Cosmopolis—were entirely shut out.

Read the Whole Item...

Client Log In
Send us a file